Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Got to have a bit of fun in Salamanca

    June 18, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    I took a bit of a breather to day and it was good to recharge. I am in awe of the scale of the cathedrals, the restoration work that has been done and the cleanliness of the city. I love the sandstone-it’s soft goldy colour is pleasant to the eye. Being a uni town there are plenty of young people busking and enjoying the arts. They really stick to siesta time here and are definitely night-owls, which is only sensible after a long lunch-hour and the afternoon heat. I get a kick out of exploring and wandering thru the streets and the gardens, there is always something around the next corner. Art nouveau, a bloke chipping away at a marble sculpture for his girlfriend a drumming workshop, a triathlon, a market , a school concert, a classic or club display or a market. Unlike Portugal where every second house is a mini supermarket here they are bars and the nightclubs. I have probably missed out on the history of the city by not going on a tour, but I get the vibe of this town in my own way. Like any tourist town life goes on outside the tourist belt.Read more