Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Leon and stained glass windows

    June 22, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    I arrived in Leon about 5pm, and was greeted by a tremendous but short-lived downpour. My hotel, Le Petit Leon was easy to find, right in the heart of the Tapas area and a short walk to the main attraction, the wonderful Leon Cathedral. I popped in for a quick look and was blown away by the stained glass windows and the elegance of the Gothic design. Started in 1153 and commissioned by Alphonso the tenth it is one of the best Gothic cathedrals in the world. The time of day and therefore the light dictates the ambience. A huge effort has gone into the restoration of the Cathedral and various convents, churches and Roman Walls. The museum of Contemporary Art is great- just one floor and all the artworks are huge. The tapas scene is big here and bars come alive after 9pm.
    I love the feel of the place and saw my first Gaudi!
    Read more