Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Day 18: Hornillos to Castrojeriz, part 1

    June 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 54 °F

    Mileage: 12.5 miles
    Altitude gain: 676 feet
    Altitude loss: 722 feet
    Weather: very warm and sunny
    Total mileage: 209.5

    Another beautiful day! We had the room (with 7 beds) to ourselves last night - it was helpful to get so much good, quiet sleep. It took us a while to get breakfast and coffee but it was worth the wait. Most of today was on the meseta, which I had read would be boring, but so far that’s not the case. The green grain fields and poppies continue to be beautiful, and even the very flat parts just remind me of Kansas, which I don’t mind. In fact, I have two posts’ worth of photos to share today!

    1. In Hornillos. They do like their pollos here!
    2. Hornillos door with misty morning meseta just visible in the background
    3.-6. Meseta views
    7. The bell tower in Hontanas, where we finally had coffee. The bells rang while we were there - very cool. I have a video.
    8.-10. More meseta views later in the day. The poppies make me so happy.
    Read more