Satellite
Show on map
  • July 6, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Snow levels have still been pretty crazy this year even with the recent heat waves. As of yesterday, several people had tried to tag the border on the PCT high route (there is a lower route that joins with the PCT about 10 miles from the border) but they all turned around due to the sketchy snow conditions. One group of four experienced mountaineers were the first to tag the border about 5 days ago but only through the unofficial lower route.

    Like all other SOBO thru hikers out there, I have pushed back my start date a few times and have been eager to set foot on the trail. Several hikers have started further down south in WA just to get on trail but they have been met with dangerous snow conditions as well and have advised to not attempt the trail yet anywhere in WA or northern OR.

    As of yesterday I made the decision, like a few other hikers have decided, to head down to Ashland and begin a flip flop hike headed North. I would walk until the snow clears in WA, also hoping the snow left in northern Oregon melts by the time I get there, then I’ll flip back up to the Canadian border going South on the original trail. This wasn’t my ideal choice as it causes me to rearrange many parts of my trip, add more expenses and not complete a “true thru-hike”. This has, however, relieved a lot of stress from thinking about whether I would be able to (and should) attempt the trail on my new start date and what risks that might still come with.

    I was all set with my new plans and a new sense of relief until this morning I got a report of the first hikers to tag the border on the official, high PCT route!! 🙌🏻 Ice axes and micro spikes were still advised but the axe was never needed. I still have a week out until I start so hoping for still more snow melt and back to my original plan with Ashland as a backup last minute!
    Read more