Satélite
Exibir no mapa
  • Dia 5

    HUSHED INJUSTICES

    22 de maio de 2023, Canadá ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    This song breaks my heart. It's about the LGBT purge that happened from the 1950s-1990s. This purge was a very shameful period where people of the Canadian armed forces, RCMP and the federal public services were discriminated against, harassed and often fired. It was devastating to thousands of people and lives were distroyed. People lost their dignity, their careers and their dreams. The trauma they endured was universal to those that were purged.

    This song was commissioned by the LGBT purge fund. It's a story of a person's experience going through this horrible situation.

    I always knew I was different
    Not at all like the kids from my town
    I was young, alone and apart
    I was waiting for something to start
    Always up for adventure, up for mischief or up in a tree
    Singing, Canada, Canada I wanna stand on guard for thee
    O Canada Mon beau pays!
    But I felt so alone, lacking crew and lost at sea
    No one I knew was like me
    I tried to fit in.
    Coping and hoping my life would begin some day soon.
    And then one sunny afternoon
    There's no life like it, no there's no life like it.
    I joined up on a Tuesday
    Mardi, jeu do, j'oublie
    Pas pour moi, pour ma
    Basic training started in Quebec
    Saint Jean Sur Richelieu
    I loved the challenge the change and the cheque
    I remember belonging
    Et d'autres comme moi
    And the moment I became we
    We were singing, o Canada we're gonna stand on guard for thee.
    For the true north strong and free.
    Though I could do what a soldier does
    Nobody knew who I really was.
    Never confiding, to nervous to be caught
    Cleverly hiding, deciding to just play my part
    Until the day I lost my heart
    "Our investigation has determined that you are homosexual"
    "We've been following you, tapping your phone"
    "We've searched your apartment"
    "Who do you sleep with?"
    ***Not advantageously employable due to homosexuality***
    What do I say to my family?
    Walked away from family and friends.
    Dedication to service became, finally
    Thirty years of dishonor and shame,
    I kept Canada's secret
    Till somebody, then two and then three started singing, Canada, o Canada, we cannot stand on guard for thee.
    Not without an apology
    To her, to him, and to them and to me and no, we're not alone
    We take a stand, we've made a choice,
    To strike up the band and raise our voices.
    Knowing we'll never go back to before
    We will be forever sharing our stories out loud
    Yes everyone can be strong and free and proud
    Love is love is love is love
    And we're proud

    **By Leslie Arden & Janice Martin**
    Leia mais