Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Roncesvalles to Larrasoana - 25 kms

    September 29, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    I'll start with last night's dinner. There were four at the table, French, German, Danish, and me. No one spoke French but the frenchie, and the others had trouble with my accent. It was a quiet meal.

    This am was cool and dark as I started after a breakfast of toast, jam, coffee and juice. Watched the sun rise, the mist in the fields, my quads angry with me from yesterday, school bells, kids riding their bikes to school, wives bringing in firewood, and pilgrims walking.

    Stopped at a Mercado for an apple, at another for juice and a muffin, and yet another for some cookies and water. Ran across the same person from Australia and we shared a few miles together.

    Upon leaving Roncesvalles, an English pilgrim behind me had a flashlight so I let him pass and got into his footsteps. We conversed for a couple of miles and ran into him again at the albergue I am staying at this evening.

    Lunch was canned tuns, a banana, and a cookie from the Mercado right next door so a midnight snack is a possibility.

    Today was a true test of my conditioning as it was 25 kms and the terrain was hilly, rocky, and at times the footing was a challenge, but I'm here and look forward to a shorter walk tomorrow to Pamplona.

    The world is the same, we just try to make things different.

    My rommies tonight are two Israelis, a German, and not sure of the other. Just hope none of them snore or all bets are off.
    Read more