Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Pamplona, Saturday, September 30

    September 30, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Last night my bunk mate (he had the top bunk) wanted to rent a motel room and get some rest. Too expensive so he found an apartment and I offered to pay half the cost so for 35 euros each, we got a nice two bedroom place two blocks from the bull fighting arena. Tommy is a young German man with his own company and he brought a computer with him.

    We arrived at noon and the owner was late showing up, but we got settled then took a tour of the arena, went to the main square, and visited the cathedral. Also found a mercado for groceries and will have pizza tonight. The groceries are for breakfast and lunch tomorrow.

    Ran across a couple of pilgrims I started with (small world), one hurt his ankle and will take a bus tomorrow to give it some relief.

    This am it was cloudy and had some liquid sunshine for a couple of hours which made the trail quite slippery. The staff I purchased in Saint Jean proved most helpful.

    So here I sit with my feet propped up, the laundry is done and hung for the final dry (no dryer, just a line) and Tommy splurged for a massage so when he returns, we will go for a pizza.

    Am tired, but feel good about the walk to date. Tomorrow might be a 12 miler, or if I feel good, will walk 15 to get back on schedule.

    Pamplona is a vibrant city and the heart of it is full of restaurants and neat shops. Did not see a new pair of feet to purchase though.

    What do you think of my new clothes?
    Read more