Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Pamplona to Puente la Reina - 14.8 miles

    October 1, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Starting with last night, Pamplona is quite the party city. Returning from dinner and passing a bar, the band started playing and the people went nuts...dancing and parading down the calle. Glad they went far away as I needed to rest.

    This am, I saw the after effects of the party in the street as there were several street sweepers collecting the trash.

    First pic is the statue for the running of the bulls and dinner was a Domino's Pizza as Tommy wanted a pizza. It was good too.

    Up early and tried to be quiet as Tommy sleeps in a bit so had breakfast, packed, and left into the Sunday quietness of Pamplona. Overcast and after a bit needed to find my poncho. Initial walking was along city streets and parks so I made good time, then got to the trails and started to gain elevation until I reached the top of Alto del Perdon. You should recognize the pictures from The Way. Tough descent as lots of loose gravel the size of baking potatoes. I truly believe that the farmers put all the rocks they get from the fields on the trail and force the pilgrim's to walk on them.

    Met a young German girl and she told me she walked 42 km a few days ago and was wondering why I was stopping at la Renia. Tired said I and stopped. I am at the albergue Santiago Apostle (up hill from the bridge and I should have stayed in town). Why did they build this place up hill?

    Nice quiet town (Sunday) and I need some rest as
    tomorrow is another day with 12 miles or so. Met an ex marine from California wondering why he is putting himself through boot camp again.

    Oh yes, the beard is coming in rather nicely.

    Enjoy the pictures.
    Read more