Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Longrono to Ventosa 12 miles

    October 5, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    I had to look at the guide book to determine where I am. Been walking too long.

    First pic is the group that I enjoyed dinner with last night. Normally the Spanish do not eat before 8 PM and we were chased from one restaurant, the Drunken Duck, only to find a restaurant that was willing to break with tradition, feed six pilgrims early and make money. Eleven euros each for a three course meal, water and a very good wine. Yummy. Will do that again.

    Private room was nice and I enjoyed the quiet.

    The morning was chilly, but after three large chocolate donuts, I was ready for anything. Ran into one of the Australian folks from day one and we had a mid morning snack, then it was pointed out to me olive trees, walnut and almond trees, and grape vnes. Grapes were very sweet and I had to explain how to clean them before chewing them (swish them around the mouth and spit out the dirty salave before chewing the grapes). Works every time. Learned that from a comic strip when I was a child.

    Today was an easier day for me...and I enjoyed it. Needed to do some laundry and relax. Tomorrow will be more milage, but not sure how much.

    Sunrise was looking over my shoulder at the industrial area of Logrono so decided to not take pics. Walked through parks, ducking sprinkler water to stay dry, then open countryside and finding the turnoff for Ventosa. Had lunch, laundry is done and drying on the line so I should smell nice in the am.

    Note the bull, the church (beautiful ), and the sign in front of the wine making facility.

    More stories to tell, but will wait.
    Read more