Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Santo Domingo to Belorado - 22 km

    October 7, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    It was quite chilly this morning, frost on the pumpkin and I could have used more clothing. Glad I kept the throw-a-way plaid shirt as it came in quite helpful.

    Think I'm getting the hang of the camino and have learned that my pack is now a permanent part of me. Will sleep with it on one day soon I'm sure.

    Anyway, when I arrive at the albergue and check in, I then stake out my bed and check out the shower facilities to determine if I need to bring the suction cup hangers and how much clothing. Some have no hooks, some have hooks inside the shower facility, but everything gets soaked during the brief shower. Some only permit 5 minutes so one must be quick.

    Once that is done and it's a wash day, a race for the sinks to handwash, then hang on the lines. Always a battle for the sunshine.

    Lunch is next and whatever I can get will suffice.

    Dinner is at 8 pm (but that varies if I am at a place that caters to the pilgrims like today).

    Lights out at 10, up at 6 or so and the days walk begins.

    Best part of the day is coffee at a cafe after walking for an hour or two. This morning I ate a couple of chocolate donuts I purchased at a mercado yesterday. They got me going and an apple after coffee was enough to tide me over until I arrived at the albergue where I got a fabulous lunch consisting of a hugh salad, fried eggs and ham, flan for desert and all chased down with wine. Yummy, now for dinner!

    My walk was quite pretty today and the hills were moderate so I am thankful for an easier day with the terrain. Area appears to be somewhat arid, but perhaps they are not having a lot of rain right now.

    Laundry is in the washer and will put in the dryer soon. While waiting for the laundry, I met a couple from Scotland. They use a Spanish company to book reservations and transport their baggage and walk a week or so each year. A nice way to approach the Camino as age gets the best of all of us. Also shared a beer with a couple from Delaware that I met in Madrid. Retired young and traveling as much as possible.

    The sign is interesting as I have over 500 km to walk, and the sign shows all the communities I'll pass through on my way to la Laguna de Castillo with well over 155 km left to Santiago de Compostilla. Lots of walking yet.

    If you are interested in how far I've walked, the challenge will be to check out the web and add it up. That I ain't gonna do 'cause I do not want to know. :)

    PS: Find Pinguins lets me add 6 pics each day so you are getting the best.
    Read more