Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Burgos to Burgos - rest day

    October 10, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Ahhh, sleeping in is heavenly. Well, all things are relative as I got up at 0630, but that is sleeping in for me.

    Took out the razor and became a respectable looking American in Burgos and for visiting the cathedral.

    A busy city with wide sidewalks and many, many small shops and places to grab a coffee and snack. Right now I'm sitting on a shaded walk having just consumed a bocadillo with a coffee. I can really get used to this lifestyle.

    There are numerous statues around town that I need more Spanish to understand, but pretty typical of any large city with as much history as Burgos.

    The cathedral was spectatular and building began in 1220 or so. It replaced a smaller cathedral on the same construction site per the museum in the bottom of the structure.

    The audio tour (in English) provided much historical detail...more than I could absorb, but provided the religious individuals that played a part in the cathedrals' history. I need to add that the interior was spectatular with all the smaller chapels that surrounded the main sanctuary, the wood carvings, the reliefs, the gilding, the ceilings and the architecture itself. Too much to capture in pictures, but I've attached a few of the better ones.

    Small world. As I was finishing this, I looked up and there was Jim, the Canadian that was in the picture I took having dinner in Longrono. We chatted and he treated to a second coffee so I am totally charged.

    Many street vendors along the river and I found some gummy candy that I could not resist. Also stopped by the mercado for breakfast food. Tomorrow is only a 12 miler, but might as well fuel up before leaving.

    Just rerurned from dinner consisting of a smoked fish salad and a beer. Dad's walking and pushing baby carriages, older men doing the same (grandchildren I assume, but could be wrong), and all seemed to be having a wonderful evening out and about in this moderate autumn weather. I truly feel blessed to have this opportunity.

    Tomorrow is another day and until then...
    Read more