Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Carrion to Terradillos - 18 miles

    October 15, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    According to the book, I have 378.3 kms to go. Wow, who would have thought.

    Was up early, feeling pretty good and was set to leave the parochial school (I think that was where I was staying) when I was offered coffee, fruit and breakfast cake. Was I delighted, and I must admit that I have never received the kindness extended from complete strangers before. I offered a donation, it was refused, but I insisted. Great people and perhaps my looking like a great Grampa bear had something to do with it?

    Left in the dark and the headlamp was of great value. Never got lost, walked with a gentleman from England for a bit, then moved along as I wanted to get a few miles under my belt before it got too warm. After 15 minutes or so, had to take off my fleece as it was much warmer than previous days so that was not good news. Did notice much more vegetation so hopefully am getting out of the Meseta and into more hospitable terrain.

    Trail initially was along country road, then a country lane with small gravel to walk on and trees along both sides. Trees appeared to be aspen like given the shape of the leaves, but then I don't know for sure.

    After about 12 miles...an oasis appeared and potatoe pie with a large "just squeezed" orange juice. Love the sweet taste and sugar is what I needed. Ran into Jarvia, a young man from Baltimore of Spanish descent, and I met he and his wife at Orisson. Unfortunately, he was the one that snored like a pen full of pigs and no one got any sleep. I gotta make sure that I never bunk in the same albergue with him again. I have never experienced anything like that before.

    A beautiful sunrise and the cloud cover made for a delightful walk. Trail was comfortable and I could make good time. Please notice the potatoes in the field. Nice color and shape right? Zoom in and. .. surprise, surprise. That's where those potatoe size rocks come from.

    The albergue today is very nice. Got a room for 4 with its own shower and toilet for 10 euros. If I'm lucky, I'll be the only one here tonight. Overall I've been very pleased with the albergues that I've stayed in. A good set of earplugs can drown out most night sounds.

    I'm in for the day, wash is drying, had a large fresh salad with tuna and a coke for lunch, and will check out the dinner menu later. Tomorrow is another day and almost 15 miles to go.
    Read more