Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Boadilla - Carrion de los Condes 25 kms

    October 14, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Felt much better this morning. Should, I guess, as I got better than 24 hours of rest.

    Left before sunrise as it gets pretty hot on the Meseta once the sun is up. This was the third day of the Meseta with two to three more to go before I get into more vegetative areas. Typical desert, brown and very dry.

    Walked along the Canal de Castillo for some of the walk, but most of it was beside a highway with a ditch separating pilgrims from the cars. Very boring walk. I did run into a girl from Boston that moved to Charleston and said she was never going back to New England as the winters were too tough. No surprise there.

    Made several stops as I needed food and one was in a barnyard as the picture suggests. Others were more typical cafes without the barnyard animals. One thing I've noticed is that there are many, many cats...more cats than dogs as best that I can tell. I suspect the mice population is pretty low. Also have not noticed many birds. Given the large amount of bread you would think that birds would be everywhere.

    Upon arriving in Carrion, I checked out a few hostels, but all were booked. The last place I tried, the owner called around and found a room in the convent. Eighteen euro for a private room with the facilities across the hall, and a nun to do my laundry (for free). I must be doing something right.

    Went out for a bocadillo, but my stomach still needs some time so I'll try something else.

    Enjoy the pictures
    Read more