Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Astorga to Rabanal 12 + miles

    October 24, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Decided not to return to the restaurant where I had a late breakfast yesterday. There was an all you can eat opportunity where I spent the night and they lost money on me. Quite a spread. I had lots of oj, ham, tomatoes, other breakfast meats, some stuff I could not recognize (and I did not try it as 12 miles is a ways to go with an upset system), cheeses, toast and jam, and if course coffee. Very nice and I was pretty full when I danced in the street with my warm clothing on. Worked perfectly and I was warm as toast. The stocking cap under my Tilly perhaps looked strange, but then we are all camino friends. The expression works on the Camino as well as other places...what happens on the Camino stays on the Camino so if I look like a poorly fashioned pilgrim, so be it. Nobody should know except those I wish to tell.

    Walk was a gradual uphill climb and it will get worse over the next couple of days as the Camino crosses the mountain range. Yes, the Pyrenees is not the only mountain range to cross. The Cantabrian Mountains also pose an obsticle and must be crossed. One of the pictures I attached is a long range view of what's in front of me. Fun? Yes, I'm having fun and enjoy the challenge.

    Scenery changes by the mile. Old churches, fields full of pumpkins, and parents biking the camino with their children. Dad had one and mom (in front) had the other and most of the time the kids were peddling.

    Notice the guy taking the picture (in the lower left corner) of the long range view. Recognize him? Ahhh, come on, surely you recognize the famous author and world traveler. Well, you'll just have to figure it out 'cause I ain't telling. So there.

    Found a comfortable place in Rabanal and am relaxing as I write this. Dinner is at 6 PM so that is nice. Bedtime by 7:30 and no grass to cut.

    Dinner consisted of two fried eggs and three large pork chops. Lot of food and should be good to go in the am.

    Ran across a guy from California that I met on October 1. Thought he looked familiar, but his hair was longer (so is mine). Pretty neat to reacquaint with folks from the past after all of these miles.

    Tomorrow I walk to Acebo. Tommy tells me they have the best breakfast on the Camino.
    Read more