Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Rabanal to Acebo - 17.5 kms.

    October 25, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 4 °C

    A shorter walk today, but in the plan as it was mostly uphill and downhill, but more uphill. The trail made it challenging with large potatoes, eggs, softballs and just about everything else imaginable to walk on. Glad I only did about 10 miles or I would be exhausted.

    The scenery made it worthwhile though as I love the mountains and the views were very pretty. Could have been on the Blue Ridge Parkway except there are no wind turbines there yet. Perhaps in the future, but not now.

    First stop was a very small village for a glass of orange juice, then onward and upward as they say to the Cruz de Ferro (you should recall the scenes in The Way when all left something to release themselves of some of life's burdens). When I arrived I noticed a pilgrim (nationality shall not be mentioned as I am on a pilgrimage) walking all over the site taking numerous pictures. History suggests this to be a holy site where pilgrims leave a symbol of their burden that they want forgiveness for.

    So I continued and passed a structure that I can only figure missed the local zoning ordinances, but who knows.

    In the distance is a destination that I should reach tomorrow and I believe it is Ponferrada. I'll be sure when I arrive.

    A couple of interesting memorials that I captured. One could be an LL Bean boot advertisement, but I doubt it and the other, well, you make the call.

    Wish I could attach two more, but the limits of technology.

    I found a very nice and new albergue. For 45 euros, I got a private room with a shower in the room, dinner and breakfast. My laundry is being done by the staff as they only have the one washer and dryer so that will be done shortly. Dinner at 7 PM.

    Interesting how we develop habits and how quickly we do that. For example I can pack my backpack without looking as I know where everything goes...

    (it all goes into the big hole in the top...fooled you!). I also unroll my sleeping bag each day regardless of the arrangements (private room or albergue) and feel right at home (well, not quite like home, but you get the message). Rather sleep in my bag as I know that it has been sprayed with anti-bug juice and I should be safe from critters that roam at night.

    So here I am waiting for dinner and a stupid rooster thinks it's 5 am. What is wrong with the Spanish barnyard animals? Everyone knows that roosters cockle-doodle-do at daybreak and rest their voice the balance of the day. I'll probably sleep through my usual wakeup time with this rooster messing things up. His clock is really off.

    Dinner was delicious. A nice salad, chicken for the main course, then fruit for desert.

    Tomorrow, on the road again.
    Read more