Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Acebo to Ponferrada - 17 kms

    October 25, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Breakfast was later than I preferred, but the rooster kept quiet (the dog did not) so a good way to begin the day? Great breakfast and ate too much as I had a side stitch for a mile or two.

    I need to share a story from yesterday that I forgot about. When I stopped for an orange juice, there was a group (herd) of cats outside the cafe milling around and I guess looking for handouts. That's what cats do, you know. Anyway, as I was taking off my pack, a dog comes charging up the street and the cats scatter to the four winds. One up a tree, one on top of a car, one jumped onto a wall, then to a roof of a shed, and another I lost sight of. Well, the dog comes to a quick stop, does a 360 as if trying to figure out what to do and which cat to chase. The cats just stayed in place as if to say "we got you, now where's your horse?"

    A cool start, but the temperature warmed quickly once the sun made its appearance. The trail was a mix if road walking and downhill gully walking. Not as bad as yesterday, but not easy. I passed through the community of Riego de Ambros early and the lights were still on. The mountains were again a sight to marvel with the fall color starting to appear.

    Stopped at Molinaseca for a very pleasant cup of hot coffee (too early and cold for a beer), OJ, and some pastries (notice the interior of the bar...very nice). There was also an old bridge leading into town and one could tell that they needed water as the river was but a trickle. I believe I stepped across it coming down the dirt and rock hill.

    As I got closer to Ponferrada, a cute house with window boxes full of flowers and the Camino sign visible for pilgrims to see. Finally the bridge leading into Ponferrada. I love these old bridges. Wish we had some in the USA that could compare.

    Once in Ponferrada, I departed the trail to find an albergue off the beaten track and am delighted with my find. They serve all meals and all are home cooked. For lunch, I had a wonderful hot pumpkin and squash soup, salad and a bacon quiche with ice cream for dessert. I could really get use to this.

    Dinner was at seven, but was told that I could have it earlier. Seven was fine with me.

    Delicious dinner (lentil soup, salad and chicken, and ice cream for dessert) and an Italian joined me. He works in Spain and is fluent in at least three languages as he understood me quite well.

    Tomorrow is a busy day and I need my rest. Enjoy.
    Read more