Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Padorleno To San Mamed 27+ kms

    October 30, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    Had planned to walk to Sarria, but got hungry and tired so I stopped perhaps a mile or two short.

    The first thing I do each morning is to check the weather (if wifi is adequate). This morning it was clear and 38 so the question was to put on all my clothing, or to put on all my clothing. Question answered and I went out the door fully decked out with my headlamp in place only to find that it was foggy. I recall what happened to Daniel in the movie The Way (it was foggy, he got lost and died of exposure) so I looked around and through the fog I saw a beacon of light eminating from afar ...a bar with coffee no less. So I found my way and enjoyed a hot cup of joy while the weather and daylight improved.

    There was a rather large dog in the bar (and no cats) that appeared to make himself at home with the customers and no one was giving him any trouble. That dog did what he wanted to do.

    After a fashion I left and took all my arms, legs, and digits with me. Fog still around and it made for a nice walk in the mist until it cleared. As on prior days, the elevation makes for beautiful scenery and I enjoyed the quiet and beauty of the morning.

    They must be redoing part of the trail as it was pristine with new Camino markers that the graffiti experts had not yet reached. A very old church in the hills was quite nice and well situated amongst the surroundings and as the haze lifted, there was much to see. What a beautiful country!

    Stopped in Triacastela to visit a mercado to buy some snack food, then continued toward Sarria deciding to stop at about 2 pm so I could get some food while places were still serving. The Albergue that I stopped for the evening reminded me of a highway motel. You remember, the kind that you drive right up to the door. Well, here, you just walk right up to the door. Same concept. Very clean rooms and I got a private room with free breakfast. Dinner is communal at 7 and I look forward to that.

    The owner of the albergue called a local restaurant for a salad for me as I was pretty hungry. It was delivered in a huge salad bowl that would serve four people. I ate it all (hey, no shame here. You want to invite me over for dinner, be prepared for one hungry man) and for just five euros (lettuce, a whole tomatoe, hard boiled egg, tuna, ham, beets, onions, white asparagus and carrots. Delicious. Can't wait to try octopus again.

    The day really turned out to be very nice. I've been blessed with fantastic weather and I hope it continues, but just in case, my rain pants and 'gators are quickly available.

    Dinner was right on time. Enjoyed it with a gentleman from Scotland, one from Germany and one from Israel. Good vegetarian dinner. Will be hunting for meat tomorrow.
    Read more