Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Le Grand Marché

    June 20, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Now the real adventure started. I decided to tackle taking the bus up to the big indoor market in another part of town. I had gotten directions at the tourist office yesterday afternoon and was kind of familiar with the part of town where I had to catch the bus. After a little wandering I found my stop and got onboard. That was the easy part. While most parts of Quebec are bilingual, I did notice that on the bus everything is in French. Not even French first, then English. Just French. I found the button to push to request my stop when I saw it come up on the screen. The bus slowed down but I did not see a bus stop sign and the doors never opened so I rode on for an extra 3-4 stops. I’m not sure why the doors didn’t open when I wanted to get off because they did later on. Anyway, Google Maps got me there and I got an extra 10 minute walk in!

    The market is a beautiful newer building; the inside is all made of birch wood. The fiddlehead fern statues are also very much a Quebec thing. I stopped and got a sandwich for lunch as well as a strawberry smoothie made from strawberries that are grown an an island outside of the city.
    Read more