Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Kwe!

    June 20, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    One of the main reasons that I wanted to go to the market today was that there was a First Nation festival in the park next door. The eleven Indigenous people groups that live in Quebec were represented and had constructed their typical dwelling places and had crafts, music, dancing and food. It was really interesting. Before going in I ate my lunch on one of the Adirondack chairs in the park. I was quickly joined by 4 fourth grade girls who were at the festival on a field trip. I discovered as a language teacher and learner that when learning a language, context is everything. On the bus I was able to understand what was going on because I had an idea of what they would be saying. Later, during the dance performances at the festival I was also able to understand because I had some contextual background to go on. But those 4th grade girls could be talking about anything, and I had no idea what they were saying!Read more