Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Daughter Has Landed

    November 15, 2019 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    Slivers of daylight pierced the tiny space between the curtains. Where was I? Oh yes, beneath the doona, to keep warm. It was 8°C outside. Still groggy, I checked Messenger to see how my sister's travel was going.

    She arrives today.

    After finalising meet-up plans, I fell asleep again.

    I woke up once more to the sound of beeping noise from the kitchen. My parents needed help with the heating element to cook some breakfast.

    To fetch my sister, I walked for about 15 mins on a breezy 16°C day. It was refreshing. I passed the venue of the concert that we would be attending tomorrow. Through the glass panelled entrance, one could catch a glimpse of the reception area - it had posters of Japanese artists who have performed there.

    I then went underground to get to the train station. Like in Hongkong or Singapore, the connecting underground walkways to the stations are full of shops and restaurants. Very busy and full of delicious smells and interesting merchandises.

    I had my camera ready to welcome my sister.

    When we got back to the unit, we enjoyed some scrumptious Fuji apples, juicy persimmon and a little rest. Afterwards, we had a walk around our neighbourhood. We were impressed to see mothers on bicycles equipped with chairs for their kids.

    We saw an avocado coloured pedestrian overpass. There were two young girls playing rock, paper, scissors, with the winner getting to advance up one step. We all delighted in watching them. They looked so happy and content - not a care about the woes of the world.

    By twilight, the temperature had dropped. We decided to have dinner at Family Host. My sister and I had Omu Rice with demi-glazed sauce, Dad had some beef curry and mom had grilled swordfish. We all enjoyed our dishes. To further celebrate our reunion, we had some Azuki Anmitsu and Marron Mont Blanc Parfait. A truly sweet indulgence for a sweet reunion.

    We got back to our unit with our bellies and hearts full.
    Read more