Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Still in Dunedin

    February 18 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    This morning I was in the camper most of the morning. I know there are loads of places I could go but my confidence level in parking is minimal. It will improve I am sure. I have seen the sign to the Chinese Gardens in Dunedin many times and today was when I actually went...!!! Compact but pleased I went. I then popped to the warehouse - I know I can park there! To get some lighter clothes. One good thing about the camper if the weather changes you can put different clothes on to suit the temperature.
    I then went to see a couple that are part of my family tree. I asked about parking and with the hills in Dunedin opted to park on the main road and walk around the corner incase it was too difficult to get out. It's a few years since we have seen one another. Jacquie and Martin Hannagan. Martin was busy making relish when I arrived. He is a good cook. Great catch up with them. Their son Thomas is in Dubai and their other son local. Took a photo but it needs edited.
    I then went to an old Air Force friends. Again they live on a steep hill for an Invercargill lass. I parked on the flat at number 7 and walked up to their place at 25. No one home. Left a note. Mark phoned me back to say Gaylene had gone into care with dementia. Very sad to hear. Gaylene and I joined up on the same day.
    My parking skills are getting better. I am almost spot on this evening.
    Thankfully we are not sardines tonight and the park is a lot quieter than it has been thank goodness.
    Jack did a 'marathon' today at Forest Hill. He was very disappointed in his time. He has had a cough all week and he said his oxygen levels weren't the best. All learning I guess.
    On my health front the bruising is coming out and it is not a pretty picture. I look like I have a moustache!
    Read more