Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Omaka

    March 10 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    No panic to get up and moving this morning.
    After sorting a few plans decided to go to the aircraft museum at Omaka.
    Very interesting place. Two options WW1 and/or WW2. Might be awhile before I come this way again so opted to do both.
    Peter Jackson has a love of history and planes, it seemed quite evident to me there is a lot of input from him or his team. The "men" were so life like similar to the WW1 exhibition I saw at Te Papa for the 100 year anniversary of WW1.
    I am not sure what I expected but seeing what seemed like paper thin aircraft that actually went in the air and fired guns at other aircraft just blows my mind.
    Tony's (my late husband) father was in the early days of the RAF. So he was very much in my mind.
    I was surprised how many planes and memerobilla from Germany. How they ended up in NZ is beyond me.
    I wonder if the old neighbour, Guenther had relations in the German Air Force.
    It was also commented upon by others looking at the same time about Top Gun. Those pilots from WW1 just couldn't comprehend what is available today.
    I then went on to the WW2 hanger. Thinking about my Dad and the planes, history of his time in the Air Force. Would have loved to have him there to hear about his experiences.
    Sobering too that so many lost their lives. It was estimated that Germany lost over 12 million. Was it 6 million the British lost? They gave the statistics but I don't remember the actual number. What did it achieve?
    I know we didn't learn any lessons and war continues.
    Inside the museum was very dark and I only took one picture and it wasn't too bad so I could have taken more but I didn't know.
    I did buy a book about the museum that I have been reading this afternoon.
    Jack (son)did the Surf to City in Invercargill today and finished in the top 20. Well done Jack.
    I am camped up at the racecourse here in Blenheim. Very windy pleased I am not driving.
    Read more