Satellite
Show on map
  • Notting Hill Market

    June 4, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Early rising today and a short 2 minute walk to Embankment Tube: gotta say I absolutely LOVE the Tube PT system! Never more than 5 minutes wait for next train 🚊 fast, efficient, easy to understand, circular, not just in and out! They also have such clear & concise communication around changes and delays…Metro: take note! Have always loved the tube 🚇❤️❤️❤️

    Also loving not having any access to my phone during most of the day! I forgot how liberating it is to just live in the moment and not be distracted by notifications all day. I wish or hope I could do it at home. The ultimate mindful zone.There is Wi-Fi everywhere so if I really need to check directions or anything else I just connect. I was going to get a local Sim card but decided against it after this light weight feeling and freedom entered my heart and soul!
    📱🚫✅

    Interestingly, while in this zone, I was able to just sit back and watch complete human obsession with their phone. On the train to market I actually heard exclamation from one passenger when she realised the person she was texting was actually 4 seats along! This only happened after both being on same train for 5 stations 🚉😳🤦‍♂️
    Preoccupation with our devices is slowly robbing us of the special interaction in the real world 🌍😢

    With a rumbling tummy I excitedly arrived at Portobello Notting Hill markets and instantly spied the Moroccan tea and pastry man! He carefully crushed real mint leaves into his own special blend in such care and consideration! A great refreshing start to the day! 🫖

    Portobello Road market is absolutely bloody amazing! There is so much to look at, food and unique stuff! Although, I’m always reminding myself that I don’t need any more stuff! I did pretty well as I only bought a lambs wool scarf for the Melbourne winter I dread returning to 😫

    Eating my way up the meandering road filled with sight & smells of delight: Had the crisp, fresh Greek salad 🥗 freshly baked home made flakey sausage roll & relaxed with a Guinness at The Castle Pub - another favourite of mine!

    It sprinkled a few drops of rain but not near enough to dampen my spirits! I found the obligatory William Thacker’s Notting Hill bookshop from the movie… Just an FYI, the outside is as you see in the movie but the inside was just a set! Sorry. Not sorry!

    Another slight observation: every French tourist I come across or run into are rude, self entitled pricks! They seem to be oblivious to everything around them…only confirming why Paris is never in my Top Ten places to adore! 🤫

    PS: Absolutely love ❤️ coming to Markets alone! Never needing to wonder where your companion is or has wandered off to, selfishly lingering longer at anything that interest your fancy and duck and dive at your hearts content 🥰🕺🏼Self indulgence is wonderful 👍🏻
    Read more