Satellite
Show on map
  • London: 72 stories up!

    June 4, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    This little soirée happened yesterday but I was so overwhelmed and emotional after being a part of the historic party at the Palace that I almost forgot to give credit where credit is due… I was sceptical about paying $60 to haul my arse up yet another observation tower in another town… Kinda like museums & churches ⛪️ after a while you’ve seen one you’ve seen them all… 🤦‍♂️😜

    But, I was pleasantly surprised! Don’t get me wrong; It was indeed a huge moneymaking scam… There were little waiters ‘bouncing’ around asking whether you wanted to buy a $30 cocktail or get your photo taken and made into a book which was $50 downstairs. I resisted both! By the way, obviously I have converted to pounds into dollars and then this happens in my head a lot of the time here - I double it and carefully consider if I really need it…

    Anyway it was actually a really amazing and interesting experience to be that high up over London and see the iconic landmarks from a different angle… Although, I remember, five years ago when I was flying back from Greece the plane flew over London and that was probably the most exciting and exhilarating experience I have had. But, as you can see from the photos it was a very pleasurable experience. The area around London Bridge station is interesting as well because the Borough markets are located there. Didn’t have time to look around them this time but I will hopefully before I head back.

    Oh, by the way I don’t think I have even told you what this building is called: The Shard!

    PS; another couple of sneaky videos of the party at the palace here as well…
    Read more