Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    "Weave" Your Worries Behind

    May 11, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Describe one act of a servant leader that you have witnessed in Philadelphia.

    While many might mention the efforts of native/local Philadelphians as an act of a servant leader that was witnessed on the SC Philadelphia Leadership Trip, the individual that I chose reflects how location and familiarity play little to no role in the “stepping up” of a servant leader. Dylan Moore is the perfect example of this. From running from the spaghetti noodles to the canned fruit, from the tuna boxes to the heavy loads of milk, Dylan was truly a servant leader in our service work contribution to the Philadelphia Share organization. It did not matter that this was a new and different service project at hand that our team was faced with, but only that there was a role needing to be filled and Dylan rose to the occasion to sacrifice his own energy and efforts to get the job done. Many leaders are in fact this very way. I like to refer to it as the “behind the scene” leaders. They do not really get much recognition, but without their work and contribution, there would be an evident failure in whatever system of service is being implemented. I can clearly remember looking over at Dylan and seeing beads of sweat fly off of his face with exhaustion. This is my favorite type of leadership! Sadly, I lost all of my photos I had not yet uploaded from our trip to Philly as my phone crashed and cracked two weeks after the trip. Nonetheless, the one photo of the 25 that I had previously uploaded before this disaster that ties in nicely with Dylan’s servant leadership is this reused wooden box crate entitled, “Share Your Hope, Weave Your Worries Behind!” If I had to add one to this crate, it would show how thankful I am for those servant leaders that often times go unnoticed. We shouldn’t worry about it though, instead, simply embracing this varying leadership style that is ever-so-necessary. Thank you Dylan!Read more