Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Friend or Foe?

    May 12, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    What about being in Philadelphia is a new experience for you?

    Pass! Stairs! Swipe! Ouch! Hustle! Big Step! Hold on! Ahhhhhh :) The train life is one of many transportation styles in the hustle and bustle city life of Philadelphia. Along with the helpful buses, Ubers, taxis, bikes, and simple walking, the train is another valuable transportation option that has proved to still be a new experience for me. Growing up my entire life in Winfield, KS, I was never exposed to such a way of getting around from place to place. From high school choir and orchestra trips my senior year to the Big Apple and the Windy City, as well as to our nation’s capital last summer for an NEA conference (National Education Association), riding this magnificently constructed transportation system is one that still takes quite a bit of adjustment each time. The people of Philadelphia and the surrounding areas, unlike me, rely on the use of the train system just as much as I rely on a car to get me from point A to point B back home in Kansas. I have entitled this post Friend or Foe for a reason though. Here is list of the following positives and negatives that the lovely train encompasses.
     Pros:
    • Fast transportation
    • Easily accessible
     Cons:
    • Loud
    • Dangerous
    Overall, the Philadelphia train system, although it possesses various negative attributes, strives to provide its citizens with an affordable and functional transportation system. This was a definite adjustment for me, but once I got the hang of it I felt comfortable enough to tackle it on my own – it’s a completely different lifestyle of its own.
    Read more