Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Coyoacán

    January 11 in Mexico ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    I took an Uber from Xochimilco to Coyoacán to meet up with old Madagascar friends - POW and Andrés. I arrived a little early so wandered through the market and to Frida Khalo's blue house (tickets to go inside have to be booked in advance and I wasn't organised enough). I then wandered across the museum of popular culture and took a look inside.

    The first exhibition was the most wonderful display of pottery I think I've ever seen. Most were by a Oaxacan potter called Dolores Porras. In other rooms there were beautiful tapestries and figurines and a dinosaur skeleton intricately decorated with beads. There was a room dedicated to different depictions of the Nativity and another showing death in many forms.

    I met up with POW and Andrés in a little cafe and we spent lots of time reminiscing and catching up. We then walked around the town and took a look in the Parroquia San Juan Bautista, catholic church. POW and I drove up to Condesa and had pasta for dinner at Nonna.
    Read more