Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Still Burgos, but some progress

    May 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Some news from inside hospital and outside. First was that last night when Amr was having some wine and tapas he witnessed a huge religious procession going through the streets…we don’t know what was but noisy and colourful!

    Then today, Amr came quite early as I’d had a bad night, not much sleep and a rather unsmiling night nurse…but the day improved - the docs say that if all continues I may be released Monday, And today they stopped the continuous IV fluids and this afternoon the NG tube came out. So far I have had camomile tea and I think I get some soup at dinner!!

    Also I forgot to mention another high point… I had a shower (helped by Amr) and washed my hair!! First time for more than a week I think. So you can imagine rejuvenation of spirits!

    Amr was again given lunch (I think they like him because not all visitors would)… and Hartley, he said the soup was good, but the chorizo and potato stew stuff was worthy of Tapavino!! And there was a salad, some chicken stuff and 2 mandarins…They really must like him!! Also will mention that masks are mandatory in the hospital…except patients in their room (and husbands - not officially)…madness…

    Then when he left he finally visited the monasterio de Santa Maria la Real de las Huelgas which we wanted to visit last time but closed on Mondays.. so now he has seen it and says he was blown away. Pics not allowed inside but he has sent some of cloisters. This is also the burial place of Eleanor of England, Queen of Castille.

    So all in all a not bad day, we walked many laps of the corridors as usual, and I am going to take the eating very slowly as just don’t want any backward progress.
    Read more