Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Arrival in Raglan

    October 9, 2022 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    Kia Ora and good evening from Auckland (23:03),

    So just that you know, I'm going to write a lot more, and more often in here than I thought I would. At least now in the beginning its really helping me organizing my feelings and sharing my impressions to just cope with everything because it really is a LOT😅 so i decided to do kind of like blog entries on this app, don't feel the need to read everything please.

    Anyways, well, this was an interesting day... I'm having mixed feelings because raglan is a cozy little village and looks amazing, the cost is breathtaking!!! And the people here are very nice buuut the room where I'm staying is not very clean and it smells like weed everywhere here and I just hate smoke☹️ also I only may stay if I stay for half a year minimum so that's definitely nothing for me. But even if it was super flat today the waves still look amazing! They are super long and super clean and one surfschool seems to be looking for teachers so I guess I'll try to search for a better place to live and stay here a bit but of course I don't know if that's gonna happen.

    The biggest adrenaline highlight for the next few years will be this busride today from Hamilton to raglan (Or so I thought) Actually amazing how this busdriver managed to drive us up and down on this very small alpine like road, in a long bus, at neck breaking spread, without getting all of us three people killed💪😂! So I just accepted my fate, grabbed a handle and tried to enjoy the mountains, endless green hills and everything in between. Sometimes you just gotta accept the fact that you have to let go of control over some things in order to achieve your goals, little wisdom to go👆👩‍🦳🧶

    But what was even more scary was the ride I got later from Wade, one of the other people staying here at lazy stays raglan. He absolutely topped the bus speed, went mostly single handedly, and just flew through these 90 degree curves😀 guess he must be a pretty good driver couse I'm preeetty sure he was stoned and maybe even had something to drink so yeah that was really scary...

    This crazy drive was going to some swimming pool with water of hot volcano springs, most relaxing thing ever, was super chill! Where we (Wade, Shannon and me) met up with Mel (from lazy stays) and this other raglan guy Max (former lazy stays stayer).

    Oh and yesterday I had an amazing and funny day with Sanu, an Indian guy that loves to travel and lives in New Zealand for some time now. He's the one I had such a great talk with and we met up later that day. He showed me Indian food (so delicious🤯 I learned that spicey isnt always hot spicey but just means that the food has a lot of taste) , we talked a lot and listened to Indian music at this indian festival that was going on. Was pretty great!

    Well, that's that, now I'm very tired so I'm gonna sleep but I had to share all of this in order to not go crazy, sooo goodnight<3
    Read more