Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    First time SURFIIIING (in Raglan)

    October 13, 2022 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    So today was awesome!
    Oh yeah, hi and Kia Ora and everything. I actually learned that it's pronounced ki-ora, so it's like one word and the first a is silent, just a fun fact.

    Today was the first day I went surfing and I loved it! I don't have any Fotos from today and the foto's I have are hideous but whatever. The waves in the back look amazing, some of them really clean, I'd say around 2 meters high. But I just went in the white wash with a hardtop 7.2 board, which is still quite short for what I'm used to but it went really well, even in the white water! Because even if the wave is kind of broken it carrys on until it hits the beach so you can surf on the white wash, with a short hard top board for about 7 to 12 seconds. And that may not sound long but it reeeaally is, believe me! So lots of surf details but I'm just so amazed by it. I wanna try paddling out to bigger waves but there are rips (strong currents back to the ocean), currents to the sides and rocks on the side of the beach so I really want to have a local by my side if I go in further, just to be safe. Maybe someone's surfing with me tomorrow, I'll see.

    But not only was that great, after that me, Shannon (kind of my super sweet and nice and bubbly raglan and new zealand guide) and her boyfriend Wade (they also stay hier at lazy stays, my current hostel) went to the local pub to eat something and play some pool. It was nice but they went home way too early and so I played with some other really nice guys who I'll probably teach surfing this weekend. After that had a nice chat with an older man about nationalism and German people and about how anxious a lot of them are. We wondered if that's also because of our German history with the second world war, I'm not sure but it's interessing in my opinion.

    What Im just starting to realize is that it's such a positive vibe here. If I wanted to do something in Germany I often got kind of a negative response like : 'Are you sure you want do to this' or 'that's too much trouble' or 'it's too dangerous'. Also when you ask people to just go and do stuff they often hesitant or not motivated. Here in New zealand it's just: 'you wanna go play tennis? Yeah of course I'll just get the rackets' and suddenly everyone is heading to the tennis court, or they ask someone with a guitar to swing by and make some music or to go to some hot springs. Maybe it's also my wrong perception of Germany but I just have the definitive feeling that it's absolutely different here. It's just a positiv 'just so it' and 'you do you' vibe. I absolutely love that about the people here, at least the ones I've met so far! Can only recommend meeting these kind of people and coming to New Zealand!
    It's just like everybodys is looking for someone to chat with. It's normal to smile and also wave at total strangers and ask them how they are doing. Sometimes just for the heck of it and sometimes to start a real conversation. So far I've experienced it in the airport, while buying tickets for a bus, in the park and in the bar (okay, there it might be more comment anyways😂). To sum it up: New Zealand people (Kiwis and people with different origin) are happy, open-minded people who live by the motto 'just do it', as far as I've seen it. IT'S! AMAZING!

    Well, I'm gonna go to sleep now, it's around midnight and I'm tired. Seems like I was born in the wrong time zone, because back in Germany I would usually be tired around 5 or 6 in the morning and awake around 1 or 2 in the afternoon. Quite interesting... Anywayyys
    good night, good day, whatever😁<3

    P.S.: I swear, the second I first set down at the little Harbour here in Raglan, this huuuge jellyfish just randomyly drifted by. It was bigger then my upper body combined with my head, with a bright pink head and such huge tentakles, quite scary to be honest, but I think it was a 'Lungenqualle' which are not poisonous😂. Oh and it's still really cloudy, I'll have to wait until summer for the sun to come out for longer😢.
    Read more