Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Mostar

    July 11, 2023 in Bosnia and Herzegovina ⋅ ☀️ 35 °C

    As part of our tour to the Kravica Waterfalls, we spent part of the time in Mostar in Bosnia. Although I am keen to visit Bosnia eventually, the main appeal of the tour was to see the waterfalls. In the end, however, I enjoyed the time in Mostar more so than the waterfalls. The old town was incredible and was so interesting to walk through. The little streets and distinct change in culture were awesome to see. As part of the larger tour, we had a local tour guide show us around, and that was cool to get an inside idea of the towns history. I have a vague idea of the conflicts between the countries in the Bulkans, but getting a better idea through her dialogue was interesting. Seeing Mostar Bridge was incredible, too. It was enourmas, and people were paying to watch people jump off into the water. I was shocked to learn that Hairy had done the jump himself when he was in Mostar. The jump must be 25m, and I wouldn't have had the balls to do it. Nonetheless, it was so cool to wander through the town and look at the markets that sold heaps of cool, traditional Bosnia items. In the end I bought a Dzeko footballer jersey for 25 euro. It was incredibly cheap and is a nice momento from my time in Mostar. I hope I can come back to Bosnia, but now I have been to Mostar. The only other city I really have left to do is Sarajevo. Although I am very excited about it, it may be a bit out of the way to make my way back through and see it. Only time will tell. Jack and I got a big feed and headed back to the bus for the waterfalls part of the tour.

    When we arrived at the waterfalls we were disappointed to learn we only had about an hour to see it all. It was only one very large waterfall, so it makes sense why they didn't provide much more time than that, but it would have been good to lay around for a while. Either way, we rushed down and threw ourselves into the water. It was a very hot day, and we needed to properly cool off. That being said, the water was incredibly cold and took the breath out of you when you first entered the water, but you got used to it. We walked around and took some photos before another extended swim to cool off. Once this was done, it was time to head back to Dubrovnik. They took a different route home that included some incredible views of Bosnia. Unfortunately, I was on the wrong side of the bus, so getting a good photo was almost impossible, but it still made for a great bus trip.
    Read more