Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 29

    Hike planning

    2 augustus 2023, Albanië ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Today, I met up with Erin in the morning to begin to organise our hike for the next day. The wanderers' hostel is normally where people who are backpackers go to complete the hike, but it was fully booked out when we wanted to go. So, instead, we found a shitty hostel down the road and simply paid a bit extra to go along with the wanderers. We had a bunch of mates doing it through them, and so we wanted to join them. It is also a cheaper option for the hike than the other places we looked at because it caters toward backpackers. A part from this we essentially just wandered through the town of Shkoder, venturing outside the main strip - which is basically all that I had explored the day prior. It turns out Mother Teresa is from Albania, so we looked at a few monuments to her and hit the town for some drinks. As we headed for some drinks, we ran into Lewis. Lewis has been without a phone for some time, and so running into him was just pure coincidence, but it worked out well. After this, we headed home for the night to sleep well before a big couple of days ahead.

    Shkoder is a beautiful place, but we didn't do the main attraction, which is Lake Shkoder. The reason for this is simply because of money. Hiring bikes wasn't as cheap as we expected, and I had to come down quite hard in my budget. To be fair, walking through shkoder was enough either way. It was a cool little town and was a food reflection of what Albania had to offer. I had expected to have sold my car before I left, and I hadn't quite accounted for that so far in my trip, so it's time to be a bit frugal with my money.
    Meer informatie