Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Africa Preparations

    October 14, 2023 in the United Arab Emirates ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    My day started even later than others, and it was basically late afternoon before I even decided to head out. I started the day with a call to the folks to catch them up on all my travels as well as get a haircut that I was desperate for. Both of these went well, so I relaxed a bit more before going into town. All I had to do was go to an adventure store for a sleeping bag. The first one I went to I had no luck, so I had to go to another shopping centre, that was not easy to get through. I didn't want to buy an uber so I got off at the closest train station and began the 40minute work. The scale of my poverty was reinforced as I was forced to walk past cars worth, quite literally hundreds of thousands of dollars. Tesla Lamborghini, Ferrari, Aston Martin, Mercedes, Lotus, McLaren, all of the incredibly expensive car brands. I would WALK for 40 minutes past some of the nicest and fastest street cars in production. Quite a grim reminder of how poor I am. Eventually, though, I arrived to pay $100 aud for a very basic sleeping bag before quickly leaving again to head home. I hadn't done much today but energy levels were once again low and I didn't want to push myself before my tour. I walked back past the expensive cars, got on the train and went to bed. Simple day today. I didn't even take too many pictures of the cars because it was too depressing.Read more