Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Sickness

    November 29, 2023 in Madagascar ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Today, we spent our last day within the Madagascan National Parks, and I was eager to make the most of the final day. When we started our first walk, though, it was clear that there was a bit of sickness going around. Although I wasn't feeling great, I attributed it moreso to the malaria medication that can make your stomach upset if not taken with food. But, eventually, the nausea started to kick in, and I knew i was in for a long walk. I managed to hold it together and see some incredible lemur activity, which made the walk definitely worth it. But, in the end, what got me was the same thing that had been pissing me off all tour. On our way out, I felt fine while walking, but as soon as we stopped, I would get nauseous and dizzy. Not great when you have a group of elderly people who can not help but ask 40 questions every time they see anything from a lemur to a butterfly. So, in the end, we stopped to look at a spider, and when the questions started to somehow deviate to questions about cooking them, I knew I may as well just face the music and go be sick. Because we weren't gonna start moving any time soon. It was not a fun vomit, but I did feel better after the fact, and it meant I could get back to the hotel without risking being sick on the bus. My main fear. In the end, I skipped lunch, and the driver was nice enough to take me and one of the other ladies back to the hotel while everyone else continued doing the walks, many still battling sickness. Although we missed more lemur activity, it sounds like I got the best stuff of the day, so I have no regrets. It allowed me to rest and recover. We had a long bus trip the next day and then A LOT of travelling on planes, so I really wanted to get well asap. It was my first time being sick on my trip so far, and it wasn't horrible in hindsight. I was just a bit neasous and sick a couple of times, but by the end of the day, I was feeling much better, and so I was glad to have missed the activities and recovered properly.Read more