Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Chocolate Class

    November 30, 2023 in Madagascar ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    We arrived back in Tana today around midday after a bit of a drive. We then got ready for our last activity together, which was a chocolate making class. Madagascar has a large proportion of cocoa crops and thus produce quite a lot. Though, apparently, Malagasy don't eat a lot of chocolate, leaving most to be exported. It was really interesting being to participate in the chocolate making process and even create our own flavours. I barely remember what flavours I've chosen now, but I think I went with one plain, one salted, one salt and caramelised nut, and a cracked pepper flavour. The chocolate is rather bitter due to high cocoa content, which isn't really my cup of tea, but it was pretty good relative to. After this, we headed for lunch and got our final group photo all together, as many flew out this afternoon and thus wouldn't be joining us for the final dinner. We then headed to the hotel and chilled out before saying our final goodbyes. A part from the Swiss couple, I don't think there is anyone from my group I would really reach out to, so it wasn't the saddest goodbye to date. But if I do get to Switzerland, then they have offered me a place to stay, so may reconnect either then during my travels. The day and the tour pretty much ended there as my next couple days were not going to be very exciting and consisted mostly of travelling 🙃

    The final list for lemurs we saw is listed below:
    1. Common brown
    2. Ringtailed
    3. Red Bellied
    4. Brown mouse
    5. Goodman's mouse lemur
    6. Golden bamboo
    7. Indris
    8. Dwarf fat tailed
    9. Lesser bamboo
    10. Golden sifaka - dancing
    11. Verreaux sifaka
    12. Greater bamboo sifaka
    13. Milne Edward's sifaka
    Read more