Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    HIKING ON THE LAST DAY OF SUMMER

    September 21, 2017 in Canada ⋅ ❄️ -2 °C

    We are staying in Canmore with our friends Jame and Sharon Thompson. Beautiful modern condo with everything you could desire.

    Today, the last day of summer, we went hiking. I trailed behind as we climbed up to Burstall Pass in Peter Lougheed Provincial Park.

    I have always been the slowest hiker/skier/walker in our group of very fit friends. Like Leonard Cohen--

    "I've always liked it slow:
    I've never liked it fast.
    With you it's got to go
    With me it's got to last."

    I simply don't have a "quick" setting, but I get there in the end.

    Anyway, it was a long challenging very beautiful hike. Tarjei, Jame and Sharon all waited for me. 15 km later, we were back at the car.

    Now we are sitting in the condo by the fire, thinking of making dinner. It doesn't look much like summer out there.
    Read more