Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Canyoning

    February 14, 2023 in Vietnam ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Omg, best day ever! After a dreadful sleep in our first night in the hostel (snoring beasts) we were up early for our adventure day. This was so good, I was very nervous being scared of heights and being under water but it was such a good day and felt safe MOST of the time. Unfortunately our group was bigger than we'd have liked meaning there was lots of waiting around time and a loud, burnt Irish guy. There were 6 activities, the first being an abseil after the practise with a jump at the end. We did this together and I was feeling the nerves on this one and did NOT enjoy the water going up my nose. Next was the zip line, this was good but felt like whiplash when I hit the water. Next was the water slide, first it was forwards and I got so much water in my nose, then we went backwards. The guide told us to relax which I found pretty difficult. The next 2 were my ultimate faves. A 25m Waterfall abseil with a jump backwards from 3 metres up. I was gripping with all my might due to the sheer slippiness but felt a good feeling of accomplishment after! Next up was the scariest for me, the free jump.. Something I've never done but I think being warmed up from the others I just went for it and ended up jumping twice. When I landed in the water it threw me backwards and I had sand everywhere, including inside my gloves! Lastly, the washing machine. This was the scariest for sure as I had no idea what was coming up. You abseiled down for abit but it was more like big steps. Then, you just hung and slid down the rope, but the powerful Waterfall pushes you but I was just in it and felt I had to get out ASAP or I'd drown 😂 At the bottom it pushed you under and he told us not to try to swim which went out my mind as I just wanted to be able to breathe. I felt buzzing after the day and really proud!Read more