Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Rajastahn - Mixed Day

    January 28 in India ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    I need to let go of some baggage - not the physical stuff I’ve packed in my suitcase. Truth be told I need to let go of that too.

    People here are genuinely curious and charming. I think on the whole they really do want to share with you. Somehow my cynical western mind is a tad suspicious and sometimes I think too much about what people might be thinking. Note to self - so what. Just keep embracing the experience and for now take things at face value and don’t overthink it.

    I‘m so not good at bartering. I obviously paid far too much as I was given a couple of extra gifts. Where are you Joannie. It’s an art travelling alone. Enjoyed the horse riding - and then later found myself on the back of a motorbike. Kinda hairy driving into oncoming traffic to join the opposite carriageway.

    Everyone knows everyone here. Went to visit one family in the village and shared chai. One of the hotel waiters subsequently told me his wife applied my Mehendi - Henna and another told me his wife demonstrated the sewing. An intimate moment to share. Off to Jodpur tomorrow. The Blue City.
    Read more