Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19–23

    saint raphaël

    October 4, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    had my first couchsurfing experience here. nicolas hit me up while i was in the bus to lyon, telling me he would be happy to host me for a couple of days in his coast town.

    he was super nice and welcoming, but with one little twist: he lives a nudist lifestyle and only hosts if you are alright with doing so too. read his bio a bit too late but still decided to move on despite karla's concerns.

    nicolas lives in a small 2-room flat, the guest bed in the main room takes up half the space. the nudist thing weirded me out a lot in the beginning, but became pretty normal towards the end of the 5 day stay. he paid for almost everything we ate, let me use his snorkeling gear, e-scooter and even playstation 5. i had a very laid back week including lots of sleeping, chilling on the beach and using the rare opportunity of playing gta v. nico even took me on a little roadtrip around the coast. all in all: would recommend.

    i also saw a kid at mcdonalds accidentally dropping his burger and having it eaten by sea crows. made my day.

    on the last day, we headed to toulon, where my ferry to sardinia would depart. he had to work there, so it was a nice coincidence.
    Read more