Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Sakura

    May 11, 2016 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    One of the first things on my wishlist for this vacation was to watch the sakura trees. Not in the least because most of them have already finished blooming. I took the subway and then a local bus to Moerenuma Park where some of the last blooming sakura trees were. I took a half an hour walk to get to the cherry blossom trees but i was rewarded wit some great looking and smelling sakura. I strolled around the park some more and climbed up the vantage point which had 211 steps to take a panorama picture of Sapporo. I walked back to the busstop and when i got in the bus i realized i was the only adult passanger in a bus packed with schoolgirls and boys. All giglling and laughing and trying not to look at me. I got back to the hostel to relax a little and work on my blog. I got to talk with some fellow travelers and we decided to go into town to the arcades. It's just the same as the fairground in Holland only a lot more noisier. One thing that really stood out for me were the Purikura machines. It's like a photobooth only with special effects you can apply to the picture. Once i get a decent copy i will share it with you. :-) We had some more beers at the hostel before i went to bed. The jetlag is still not entirely gone. ;-)Read more