Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Day 39: Lagos a Cee

    June 7, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    On the way to the end of the world, and three days in.

    There is a different energy to this leg of the trip. Perhaps it is me, but there is a tiredness of the body and perhaps even the soul. I leave later, my muscles are more relaxed, a drink wine for longer and I rest for longer. The knowledge that I have reached Santiago, accomplished my goal, still sinks in as I drink coffee this morning.

    I wake up around 6.30 naturally, having had a good sleep with an actual duvet, I make my way down for a coffee. I am with a lovely group, there is a close familiarity they have shared that I feel I am slightly on the outside of today, so I drink some coffee and eat a little breakfast before heading off on my own today.

    It is a fellow pilgrims birthday, and I reflect on what that experience might be like to celebrate in the company of great Camino friends. I hope to see them at my final destination and enjoy a glass of wine to celebrate.

    I stop a few times on the way today, a coffee here and a coffee there. Everything feels almost dreamlike, a slow steadiness that is unlike the energy of the last week. A natural slowing as I move closer and closer to the sea.

    The walk today is peaceful and beautiful, the familiar look of the countryside is very evocative. With eucalyptus at either side of the path, and the smell of sea salt in the air, I really do feel as if I am walking home.

    I begin to make plans for when I return, I will cut my hair, I will start screen printing, I will start to sing again. I resolve that I will continue the journey I have started to enjoy myself and my life, living it to the fullest. As this chapter comes to a close somewhat, I know it is just another page in the story. I am in a reflective mood and walk mostly in silence, although I do meet Hodges along the way!

    I arrive in Cee, crossing over a hill to the first sight of the sea. It is absolutely beautiful, and just the look of it is refreshing. I know that I get closer to finisterre, and closer to Doniños by the day.

    At the hostel I share some of my fruit with a Dutch pilgrim, who tells me he is looking to make large life changes in his marriage and his job. It is amazing that I have grown comfortable talking with people about such personal and intimate things; I think the Camino teaches you that in many ways. We are all human, and we can support each other.

    I am invited to eat spaghetti with some Italians at the hostel, and there is a birthday dinner to celebrate also! I hope I can do both.
    Read more