Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Day 40: Cee a Finisterre

    June 8, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Today is really for many, the last walking day. It is a short day of only 12km, and there is a bittersweet feeling that hangs in the air today. For most of the lovely group I’ve been sharing the last week with, this is the last stop before parting ways in different directions.

    A lovely birthday dinner was had yesterday, and a real sense of family. Like Hodges, I hope to travel onwards in life with the knowledge we will reunite at some point. It was a truly special evening.

    The day starts at a cafe, where a monolithic spread is presented and many pastries consumed. I am so surprised by my appetite, which is voracious at the moment. Ah well, plenty of time to sort that out in my ‘normal’ life. We start walking together, but all fall into a natural pace. I walk ahead with Hodges and Pien mainly, the air is humid and there is a drizzly rain that soaks you through in five minutes.

    The day is beautiful, and as soon as you see the sea there is a real sense of coming home for me. It is fresh and I am so grateful to be near the water.

    We all link up together in the town of Finisterre, and there is a real energy to the day. With every step closer to the cliffs, we are closer to the end. Pien Hodges and I walk together to the Faro in Finisterre. But we wait for Becky and for Ophelia to walk together to KM 0.

    What a moment.

    I feel truly emotional, more so than reaching Santiago. Grateful for the friendship and kinship I have shared over the last week with truly beautiful people. We pop open a bottle of champagne and I feel proud. I have covered 893km in rain, heat, sun…through fields forests and cities. And now, the end of the world. As I stare out into the ocean with my Camino family by my side, I know that this is only just the beginning of my journey.
    Read more