Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Melaka - 2nd Full Day of Wandering

    December 13, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    Blimey, did I sleep well in my pod.
    I'm back in the relaxed traveller frame of mind. That's not to say there haven't been hiccups.
    I dropped my iPhone on a hard floor in Kuwait and needed to get the whole front screen replaced in Kathmandu (by a knowledgeable lad: c.£16, bargain).
    I also dropped my removable hard drive (back-up for photos) on arriving at Vspace. Now it can't be accessed on my MacBook.
    Yeah, there have been frustrations, but this is turning out to be a wonderful trip already.
    I've chatted to mainly local people, but met the occasional fellow traveller along the way. For example, a French couple took the same journey as me from Kota Bharu to Melaka, but we only got talking when I was chatting with a local chap outside his house on the riverside. The Malay chap was fascinating. He'd studied in the UK at Brighton and Birmingham, and we had a good old natter about myriad things of mutual interest. He'd only give his name as 'Mr Best in Town' (photo uploaded).
    I'm writing this on one of the tables beside the riverside walk that the rear of my hotel butts onto. Te breeze is helping a lot. The lights are starting to come on in the riverside restaurants, and it's time to go hunting for dinner.
    Read more