Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Melaka - Last Day

    December 14, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    Today's been about visiting the Stadhuys Museum and connected smaller displays in the morning, and trying to 'tick off' some things I'd not managed to cram in earlier.
    The Stadhuys (town hall) dates back to the Dutch colonisation/takeover from the Portuguese. It's particularly interesting to me (no wait, honest, it get's a bit more interesting), as the building was modelled on one I remember very fondly from my youth. Yeah, yeah, my memory's not that bad. It was designed as a reconstruction if the 'stadhuis' in Hoorn in the Netherlands.
    Our Steve will immediately know where I'm going with this.
    We spent a very, very pleasant week with Mrs de Kuiper and her family in Hoorn when I was 11 years old, as part of a town twinning/band visit, back in the mists of time. Lovely memories.
    Included here are yet more shots around Melaka; St Paul's church (Bukit St Paul), [why is an Austin Princess limousine displayed in a kind of bandstand?] Gravy Baby promotes a balanced diet, more street scenes and more river scenes when it's at it's most colourful in the evening.
    Early turn-in tonight - pack the rucksack for a smooth getaway in the morning: 8am taxi to the main bus terminus at Melaka Sentral (local spelling).
    Speaking of which, amongst all the Malay-ized renditions of common words, some other oddities crop up. Just around the corner from my guesthouse is a place proudly calling itself the AK47 Cafe. Apparently people are dying to get a table.
    Read more