Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Bali, 5th Day, 25th December 2022

    December 25, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    This must be one off the strangest Christmases I've ever had. Okay, but strange.
    My first task today was to find somewhere to have my Christmas dinner/lunch - that didn't feel like I was settling for yet more spicy Indonesian grub. After a long-ish walk down alleys leading off into other alleys, I found a place selling fish & chips. Close, but not quite.
    A couple of Ozzie restaurants/bars seemed promising so, dodging showers, I settled on one of them: Y-Sport bar. It was yer cliche Ozzie sports bar, multiple big screen TVs streaming endless sports of all kinds. (Does this sound familiar Chris & Linda?) Here are a few photos of the place and my meal.
    The menu promised a lot:
    Deliciously Roasted Aussie Beef, Chicken and Australian Leg Ham off the Bone, Served with Roasted Potato, Pumpkin, Carrot and Onion , Minted Peas, Baked Cauliflower in Mornay.
    Dessert: Apple Pie with Vanilla Ice Cream.
    'Fair dinkum' I think they say, apart from the cold meat. But why the added charges for 'tax' and 'service'?
    Back to my digs for a rest and read the novel I bought yesterday in the ex-pat's bookshop. Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman, seeing as you asked.
    Read more