Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Gili Air island, 27th December 2022

    December 27, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    Oh, Gili Air. What a place.
    I've already decided that I'll have to come back for a longer stay some time.
    There are three notable islands off the coast of Lomboc, which is in turn off the coast of Bali. Going west to east, the Gili's are Trawangan, Meno and Air.
    Gili Trawangan is the party island, Gili Meno is the honeymooners hideaway, and Gili Air is the Goldilocks island: just right.
    There's no motorised traffic allowed on the island. The only transport options a re horse and cart, bicycle and electric scooter. I hired a bicycle, and had to give it back. I could get my knees to work the pedals :(
    Still rains like the gods are angry, though.
    No scuba diving tomorrow - They won't let me dive and fly on the same day - so I went snorkelling instead (and stubbed my toe getting off the rocks into the water. Tomorrow is a travel day to the Philippines, so maybe there won't be much to report here. We'll see :)
    Read more