Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Cerro san Cristobal

    November 30, 2022 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    After a 14h-long flight (no toddler or snoring person next to me, yeaaah), I arrived in the Arturo Merino Benitez airport. Once outside the airport, I took some time to enjoy the shining sun and its 25 degrees. My first conversations in Spanish to get info are surprisingly easier than I thought.
    I didn't have any idea about what to visit for my first day, so I chose a place not far from my hostel : the San Cristobal hill. Located at the north of Santiago, this hill hosts a national park with hiking and biking trails, an open-air swimming pool and the Mapulemu garden, where one can find the different plants from Chile's three climate types.
    At the culminant point of the park stands a statue of the virgin Mary. From there, I saw how far the city spreads between the mountains.
    You can walk there from the hill's bottom in ~2h or take a cable car and enjoy a nice view of the city, as I did to get back to the hill's bottom.
    Read more