Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1,416

    Asia Tour - Bangkok - Thailand

    January 27, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    I knew what I was doing today. I had been looking forward to today for a while. On the weekend in Bangkok they have this huge outdoor market called ‘Jatujak Weekend Market’ the place is huge. Luckily for me where I am staying is right on the BTS line, so it was just a quick 6 stops costing 40baht to get there.

    It was manic, so busy it was like a swarm. It was so lively, tuk tucks, scooters, Taxi’s flying by and beeping. Locals shouting about their restaurant or stall. Tourists looking all lost and bewildered and backpackers like me just trying to absorb it all in.

    I should of got a map, the place is gigantic but I decided to just walk around and see what I stumbled upon.

    I was not disappointed. Everything you can think of is here in this market. They have the usual souvenir crap aimed at tourists, but they had huge homeware sections, a gigantic pet section where you could literally buy anything. They had so many puppies, even bulldog puppies. Snakes, birds, dogs, cats, insects and even mini pigs.

    They had a large fabric section where you could buy Thai silk for pence. Crazy cheap. There was also a huge clothing section ranging from cheap to the expensive. 100’s of different food stalls, all smelling better than the last.

    I walked 10km around this market all day, I managed to eat some good grub, drink some weird drinks and just enjoy the day. Thai people love to barter however they’re not as pushy as other countries which is nice. They do however have a limit, I saw a couple of times where tourists where negotiating over 20baht.. around 50p. Which was rather annoying as tourists can afford it, what’s 50p to an European, Australian, American? It’s nothing, these Thai people need it more than we do. If you ever do come here, haggle, they love it but be mindful. You have more money in your wallet/purse than these people earn.

    After exhausting myself walking around in the intense heat, I got the train to Siam Square as it’s only 1 extra stop on the SkyTrain from my hostel. It’s nice but it’s very western, I didn’t see the point in sticking around so I went to bed.
    Read more