Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1,417

    Asia Tour - Bangkok - Thailand

    January 28, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    I woke up today at 3pm! I was exhausted after having such a long day the day before. I needed it as I think I was still a bit jet lagged. It worked out quite well for me though as I was planning on having a quiet day anyway.

    I got up got a shower, and decided I would head down to Khao SAN road for a quick beer, and something to eat before I went to the Rajadamnern Stadium to go watch the Thai boxing. I had read up before hand all about it, and all the scams that go along with it. If you get a tuk tuk there, they may tell you it’s closed or it’s been moved to another stadium or they will offer you tickets. Politely decline and just tell them to take you there, or just get another tuk tuk. You can buy tickets directly outside the stadium and you can barter on the price. I got a club class ticket which is just behind ringside for 1300, which is 500 less than advertised. However if you’re Thai, the price is only 400.... sneaky.

    Anyway, it’s brilliant, ringside seats for 9 fights, seat service for beer and snacks - it’s expensive by Thai standards but still cheap. A beer at home in a stadium is probably close to £10, I paid 3 so it’s not too bad. Saw some good fights, the smaller weight classes where by far the best, they’re so quick it’s scary.

    The atmosphere in there is awesome, they have a ringed off section up at the top which is the cheap zone but that’s where all the action happens, you can bet on the fights and there’s a guy who comes round and sorts it all out and depending on what corner you’re for is what noise you make. So if you’re supporting the red corner you make like a oooooo noise and if you’re supporting blue its more of a kneeeee noise. It’s awesome. Even managed to see a knock out which was cool.

    After the fights I went back to Khao san Road. It was the busiest I’d seen it since being here. Bit tacky but I loved it. Got a few beers, ate some more street food, had a little chat with some fellow backpackers then called it a night.
    Read more