Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1,419

    Asia Tour - Bangkok/Chiang Mai -

    January 30, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Off to Chiang Mai today, I was hoping to get the overnight train there but it had all sold out and I didn’t fancy taking a coach even though it would be half the price of a plane but 8 hours longer. I settled on flying, cost me about 25quid for a ticket from Bangkok to Chiang maineith VietJet.

    Before heading off to the airport though I had a little walk around my hostel for one last time and found a cool little cafe so I grabbed a drink and something to eat then headed off to the airport. My taxi driver was a huge Liverpool fan, his English wasn’t great but it was always ‘Liverpool TOP TOP Champions’ then a thumbs up. He asked for a photo with me so he could show his kids so i obliged and he seemed happy.

    The plane to Chiang Mai was delayed by an hour but it wasn’t too bad, the airport is big enough to entertain yourself although getting WiFi is near impossible in some places. The flight in was uneventful, I watched the new episode of the grand tour which was OK at best, it seems a bit wooden at the minute, kinda forced.

    I go collect my bag, hop a taxi into Chiang Mai, the driver had. I idea where to go as my hostel is brand new so I had to give her my phone for the GPS. My hostel is sound, my type, modern, industrial looking and most importantly it’s quiet. The beds aren’t the comfiest but it’ll do. I head out to get something to eat and came across a place called goodkitchen. The food is so good I ate 2 main meals and 2 starters, had 2 smoothies and spent about 300 baht. Winner

    I retire to bed as tomorrow I am going to try and visit every temple in Chiang Mai - it’s a challenge I can’t wait for!
    Read more